Doing: In the Workshop

 

Still a lot of work needs to be done to complete this first piece and I have big ideas about the next part.  I’m hoping I will have time to get all of this done.  I still have several knitting projects I want to complete before the boy arrives.  I don’t feel like I have as much time to devote to these preparations as I’d like, but I’m sure I’ll find a way to get it all done.

On a separate note.  Not much is happening with the decked out container garden right now.  We’ve had some really great rain patterns the past two weeks, so I haven’t had to do any watering.  The birds and the squirrels have found their way on to the deck and under the bird netting.  Just today I watched a squirrel run off with a cherry tomato in his mouth.  He was verbally disparaged as I chased him off…probably not an effective deterrent, but I felt marginally better.

Canning has all but stopped now.  I got the peaches put up along with some tomato sauce and I think I’ve had enough laboring of a steaming pot for one summer.  That, and I’ve moved on to all this sewing.

Sauce, Salsa, Peppers and Blueberry pie filling.

Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures of the case of peaches I processed into canned peaches, bourbon peaches and peach sauce.  I am pretty sure though, that I will update you with picture of the things I made with those items.

I’ve also gotten back to a little baking.  Nothing serious, but it sure did feel good to crank up the ole’ grain mill to make these blueberry muffins that taste like they’re from a bakery, but way more healthy.
 

The high school reunion from mid-July was an interesting event.  There weren’t that many classmates in attendance, but I knew everyone who attended.  I had a nice time catching up with these people that I went through high school with.  Most are all but strangers now, some I still keep in touch with through facebook and when I run into them back at home.  It seemed like my classmates are all doing well, and like me, are trying to live their lives.  It really was simply a reunion.  We got together for a little while, talked about current events, what we’ve been doing the past 10 years and relived a few moments from the old days that were funny or memorable.  Am I likely to catch up with these people on my own between now and the next reunion?  Hard to say, not likely, but with Facebook, I know we’ll all be in touch – at least with the major happenings – births, weddings etc, etc.

Tomorrow marks the first day of this pregnancy’s 3rd trimester.  Everytime I think about it, I hear the synthesizer start of the song – the Final Countdown in my head.  I hate to remind you folks, but the end of the year is just around the corner!

Hope I haven’t bored you to death, I’ll try to do something more informative or interesting in the next post – but no promises 😉

